In two of the best games in the five-year history of the tournament, our 2014 Mid-Atlantic and New England champions were crowned!

New Jersey held off a late rally by Pennsylvania to clinch the state’s second straight Mid-Atlantic title.

New Jersey took the lead in the first inning on a single by Ben Liebrand and it was a lead they would never relinquish.

Liebrand, along with Ben Hoag and Cohl Mercado, the 1, 2, and 3 hitters in the lineup, combined for seven hits, seven runs scored , and an RBI. The next three in the lineup, Tommy Finnegan, Dylan Oliver, and Tristan Loughlin drove in seven runs in the winning effort.

Rhode Island became the first team from the host state to win the New England title by defeating Connecticut 7-5.

Collin Startz came off the bench for Connecticut and contributed with a 2-run single that, at the time, gave Connecticut the lead.

But, Rhode Island took the lead back in the 5th and didn’t slow down. Nathan Kelly had a two-RBI single in the 5th and walked with the bases loaded in the 6th to drive in what would end up as the winning run.

Rhode Island and New Jersey square off for the 9/10 Eastern Region crown Saturday morning at 11 a.m. IMG_2745.JPG